Atrophie Progressive de la Rétine (APR)

English Czech German Danish French Icelandic Italian Dutch Norwegian Portuguese Swedish

[Traduit par Gaëlle Wendlinger]

L'atrophie progressive de la rétine, ou APR comme on l'appelle souvent, est une affection héréditaire de l'œil. Elle se transmet sur un mode autosomique récessif dans la plupart des races. L'APR a été identifiée chez l'homme, la majeure partie des chiens de race, et certaines races de chats.

L'APR est une maladie de la rétine, un tissu situé dans le fond de l'œil. La rétine contient des cellules spécialisées appelées photorécepteurs. Ceux-ci absorbent la lumière que le cristallin dirige sur eux, et la transforment en signaux électriques nerveux. Ces signaux sont transmis par le nerf optique au cerveau, où ils sont perçus en tant qu'image. Dans l'APR des chats Abyssins et Somali, les photorécepteurs dégénèrent peu à peu.

Au début de la maladie, la vision nocturne se détériore, étant donné que le chat rencontre des problèmes croissants pour adapter sa vue à une faible luminosité. Plus tard dans le processus, la vision diurne faiblit également. Alors que la rétine dégénère, elle s'amincit, et la lumière s'y réfléchit fortement (hyper réflexion). Dans le même temps, la pupille se dilate de plus en plus dans un vain effort pour recueillir plus de lumière, provoquant une « brillance » notable des yeux du chat. Le cristallin peut se voiler ou s'opacifier, aboutissant à une cataracte. En général, la cécité survient vers 4-5 ans, mais peut éventuellement apparaître quelques années plus tard.

Les chats affectés s'adapteront à leur handicap, tant que leur environnement restera stable, et qu'ils ne seront pas confrontés à des situations nécessitant une excellente vision.

Le diagnostic de l'APR se fait normalement grâce à un examen ophtalmoscopique. Cela nécessite une dilatation de la pupille au moyen de gouttes ophtalmiques. L'APR peut être décelée en raison de changements ophtalmoscopiques: réflectivité (brillance) accrue du fundus (l'intérieur du fond de l'œil, recouvert par la rétine); réduction du calibre et de la ramification des vaisseaux sanguins de la rétine; et rétrécissement de la tête du nerf optique (le nerf reliant la rétine au cerveau).

As there is now a DNA test for the rdAc mutation (causing the most common PRA), one also knows that a cat with double set of this recessive gene (the rdAc) will develop PRA, although there may be no signs at an ophthalmoscopic examination.

Clubs participant actuellement à ce programme de santé:

Progressive Retinal Atrophy (PRA)

English Czech German Danish French Icelandic Italian Dutch Norwegian Portuguese Swedish

Progressive retinal atrophy, or PRA as it is frequently termed, is a hereditary eye disorder. It is inherited as a simple autosomal recessive in most breeds. PRA has been recognized in humans, in most purebred dogs and some breeds of cats.

PRA is a disease of the retina, a tissue that is located inside the back of the eye. The retina contains specialized cells called photoreceptors. These absorb the light focused on them by the eye's lens, and convert the light into electrical nerve signals. The nerve signals are passed by the optic nerve to the brain where they are perceived as vision. In PRA in Abyssinian and Somali cats, the photoreceptors degenerate gradually.

Early in the disease, night vision deteriorates as the cat will face increased problems adjusting its vision to dim light. Later in the process, daytime vision also fails. As the retina degenerates it gets thinner and light will be strongly reflected (hyper reflection). At the same time the pupils become increasingly dilated, in a vain attempt to gather more light, causing a noticeable "shine" to their eyes. The lens may become cloudy, or opaque, resulting in a cataract. Total blindness occurs typically at around 4-5 years but could be delayed for several years.

Affected cats will adapt to their handicap as long as their environment remains constant, and they are not faced with situations requiring excellent vision.

Diagnosis of PRA is normally made by ophthalmoscopic examination. This requires dilatation of the pupil by application of eyedrops. PRA can be diagnosed by ophthalmoscopic changes: increased reflectivity (shininess) of the fundus (the inside of the back of the eye, overlain by the retina); reduction in the diameter and branching pattern of the retina's blood vessels; and shrinking of the optic nerve head (the nerve connecting the retina to the brain).

As there is now a DNA test for the rdAc mutation (causing the most common PRA), one also knows that a cat with double set of this recessive gene (the rdAc) will develop PRA, although there may be no signs at an ophthalmoscopic examination.

Clubs presently participating in this health programme: