遺傳學 Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

如果有效群体太小,将会如何?

每一代的近亲繁殖系数将会增加。事实上,这发生在所有不是无限大的族群,但是物竞天择将会对近交的个体更不利,因此合理地调整小幅度的近亲繁殖并保持现状。众所周知越多的卵细胞受精,一胎中的出生的后代数目就更多,一个理论是这些早期的胚胎需要在子宫中"搏斗"争取位置,越纯合的胚胎可以生存的机会更逊。然而,这一个理论没有证据支持为实际状况。

当近亲繁殖系数一代一代的增加,之后将会如何?开始的时候,没有什么。直至纯合性的程度已经临界,真正的问题才会出现,但通常到达了已经非常困难作出纠正的阶段。更佳的方法预防胜于治疗。这也涉及教育的问题,当然那些拥有非常小量猫只便开始选育的配育员,不会立即发现将会产生的问题。他们的想法“我多年来都是用这种方法选育,而我从来都没有遇上任何问题”。但是我们知道,”试错法“不适用于此!当“错误”出现的时候,已经错过了可以简单点调整的时候。

为何近亲繁殖是如此危险?有一件事情-是所有受过教育的配育员都知道-这意味着将有害或致命的隐性基因倍增的风险更高。在一个扩张到一定程度而不是太多近亲繁殖的族群,双套染色体将会保护我们远离这一个危险。所有的个体都带有一些有害的隐性基因。有些人的想法是透过近亲繁殖可以淘汰这些有害的隐性基因,得出未来更健康的品种。但是,首先近亲繁殖不会自行清除任何东西,它是结合了选择的基因而壮大,排除不合用的基因。其次,是您需要进行令人难以置信的严重近交,因此令所有或接近所有的基因座纯合,而您可以看见猫带有些什么和淘汰所有的不良基因。将雌性与她的直系弟兄交配,所有的基因座的 25%将会纯合。再将这些后代的两只,互相交配,所有他们的基因座的37.5%会纯合。再将那些
后代互相交配!现在的近亲繁殖已经太过了,许多配育员都会终止。但是还是”只有“50%的基因座纯合化。因此,尽管这样严重的近亲繁殖,我们将错过揭露其他隐性,潜在的有害基因。

但是让我们假设,我们继续这样做!我们选育一条朝100%纯合的血系进发,全程都选择淘汰有害基因的选育。所有个体都将会拥有完全一样的基因型,除了现实中雄性一定有一条Y-染色体,而雌性有第二条X-染色体。

好了,花了很多的经历和金钱打造这一条所谓的同基因的血系,许多猫在途中死去。但是,如果我们最终到达这点,那么我们有一条从遗传学观点看来是100%健康的猫!多好!

这是可以的,如果您可以很小心地不让纯合性水平增加的速度比您能掌握淘汰坏基因快便可以。在实验室中利用小鼠的科学实验取得成功!但是……他们只是能从二十只中能生存的只有一条血系。其他19条血系在过程中死亡。也许最好不要投机?

同时,纯合个体的免疫系统也不是很好。如果有异合的基因座的免疫系统运作较佳,这是因为异合令个体有机会发展更多不同类型的抗体,而不是只有大量同样的抗体。这不是在实验室的小鼠主要的问题,由于他们的生存环境是颇受保护远离(不希望)的传染病,并因此,如果很不幸地有小鼠在在实验室中死亡,并不绝对视为一个悲剧。如果在另一方面,一只万千宠爱在一身的猫咪和家族成员身亡,这是非常悲哀的事情。恩……毕竟这可能不是一个好主意?!

最重要的是基因突变是不由自主地发生,并会随着时间逐渐破坏我们良好的基因型。您需要指望每一个个体都会有一或而个新的基因突变。

我认为最好是改变我们的策略!

继续...

Genetics Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

What happens if the effective population is too small?

One thing that happens is that the inbreeding coefficient increases for every generation. Actually, this happens for ALL populations that are not of unlimited size, but then the natural selection is probably working against more inbred individuals, so that reasonably small increases of the inbreeding are adjusted and status quo is kept. It is also known that a larger number of eggcells get fertilized than the number of offsprings that finally are born in the litters, and one theory is that these early featuses have to "fight" for their place in the uterus, and that the more homozygous featuses are less likely to survive. This theory however not been proven to be true.

What will happen, when the inbreeding coefficient is increased generation by generation? In the beginning, not much at all. It isn't until the degree of homozygosity reaches a certain critical level that the real problems show up, and then it is usually much more difficult to take corrective action. It is much better to start working against these problems before the symptoms show up. The pedagogic problem then of course is that those who begin to breed with too few individuals won't immediately see the problems that it will cause. They think "I have bred in this way for many years, and I have not had any problems". But as we can see, "trial and error" is not a very good approach here! When "error" appears it is a bit late to adjust in an easy way.

Why then is inbreeding so dangerous? One thing - that every educated breeder knows about - is that it means an increased risk of doubling up on harmful or lethal recessive genes. The double set of chromosomes otherwise protects us from this risk, to a great extent in a population that is not too inbred. All individuals carry a few harmful recessive genes. Some people think that the inbreeding clears out the harmful recessives and leads to a healthier breed for the future. But first, the inbreeding doesn't clear out anything in itself, it has to be combined with a strong selection in order to clear out any undesirable genes. Second, you have to inbreed incredibly strongly in order to get all or almost all loci homozygous, so that you can see what the cats are carrying and weed out all the undesirable genes. Mate a female with her full brother, and 25% of all loci are homozygous. Then mate two of these offsprings with eachother, and 37.5% of their loci are homozygous. And then we take two of THOSE offsprings and mate them with each other! Now the inbreeding is so strong that most breeders would back away. But still "only" 50% of the loci are homozygous. So in spite of this drastic inbreeding, we will miss out on exposing other recessive, potentially harmful genes.

But let us assume that we go all the way with this! We breed a line towards 100% homozygosity, selecting strongly against harmful genes all the way. All individuals will then have exactly the same genotype, except for the fact that the males must have a Y chromosome where the females have a second X chromosome.

OK, it took a lot of effort and money to make this so called isogene line, and many cats died on the way. But if we now finally have reached to this point, then we have a line that is 100% healthy from a genetic point of view! Yippeeee!!!

It is possible, this can be done, if you are careful not to let the level of homozygosity increase more quickly than you manage to weed out the bad genes. This has been done with mice that are to be used for scientific tests. It works very well! But... they only manage to get about one line out of twenty to survive. The other 19 lines are dying in the process. Maybe better not to take that chance?

Also, the immune system is not very good in homozygous individuals. The immune system works much better if the loci involved are heterozygous, since this gives the individual the possibility to develop more DIFFERENT kinds of antibodies, not just lots of antibodies of the SAME kind. This is not a major problem in laboratory mice, since their environment is quite protected from (undesired) contagious diseases, and since it isn't exactly considered to be a tragedy, unfortunately, if a laboratory mouse dies. If on the other hand a much loved pet cat and family member dies it is indeed very sad. Hmmm... Perhaps not such a good idea after all?!

On top of that mutations happen spontaniously and would with time destroy our fine genotype. You have to count on one or two new mutations in every individual.

I think we had better change our strategy!

Next...