遺傳學 Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

在各品种中出现遗传病!

对,这也是由于有效群体太小!除非是由于罔顾动物的解剖学功能而繁殖。选育出身躯过长的猫将会带来背部的问题,选育出面部非常扁的猫,可能为牙齿带来问题,选育出过分三角、方、圆等等的头部,可以带来下颚、眼睛、大脑、或其他毛病。猫首先就是一只。他不是一块粘土让我们可以根据我们的审美理想而塑造。我们必须紧记,一只猫不会有圆形、三角形、方形、或其他几何图形。也许我们需要选育将所有猫都拥有狮子狗的皮毛,这样我们可以剪掉那些对我们非此吸引的几何图形和古怪的角。这样让猫的解剖学得到安宁。不,甚至是如果标准注名,头部应该是三角或方形,我们身为配育员必须抵抗走极端。这是猫的头-不是一个几何图形。

除了极端选育,有效族群太小也会导致多个品种出现多种高发病率的遗传病。许多配育员对于这件事似乎有点混乱。他们可能认为,如果我们品种中的猫,比如说10%感染了PRA,意味着PRA隐性基因的基因频率大约是32%,如果我们不做检测并且不努力地减低这一个频率,随着时间流逝,这一个频率会自动提高。这绝对是不正确。如果是这样,稀释颜色(蓝、奶油等)的猫都会随着时间增加,除非我们选育抵制稀释基因。如果有效族群是足够大,不选择或淘汰PRA,基因频率将会停留在32%。

另一方面,如果我们弱择抵制PRA,举例让带有PRA (纯合)的猫生育不超过一胎,这样基因频率便会减低。弱择的速度较慢,强择的速度会较快。

但是如果有效族群太小会如何?基因频率将会如何?这跟您抛钱币10次的后果一样。每一次您都有50%得到正面。如果您抛这一个钱币 1000次,您将会得出差不多50%正面和50%反面。但是现在您只抛1-次。如果您有机会得到70%正面和30%反面、或30%正面和70%反面,如此类推,并不稀奇。

在一个小的猫族群的类似情况,这意味着基于这一个随机的后果,基因频率约30%,在下一代可能增加至35%。或同样地由于随机后果,会跌至25%,如果在PRA的例子中,这是很不错。但是,悲观一点的假设频率增加至35%。这样对下一代的预期值是35%。但是也有机会最后是29%、34%、38%、42%等等。有效族群越小,基因频率的预期值有偏离机会会越大。这一个随机得出的频率,将会成为下一代的预期值。这种现象称为逢机漂变random drift。如果这一个逢机漂变的影响比选育选择-天择或人择更大-基因频率的改变,非常有可能跟我们的期望背道而驰。 尽管选择。这样我们的暹罗猫的眼睛颜色会越来越淡、或我们的挪威森林猫的山猫蔟毛会变小、或在我们的波斯猫中的PKD会更普遍。当然这可以是任何东西,但有趣!

如果我们深入研究,为什么PKD在波斯猫中变得非常普遍,这很难是一些神秘的选育,特别挑选肾脏包囊。肯定是其他原因。

这当然是在很久以前有一只猫出现基因突变,因此猫的肾脏出现包囊。让我们假设是一只雄猫在5岁的时候死于PKD。或在7-8岁。不管怎样,我们有一些抵制这基因的选择。如果有效族群足够大,频率将会减少甚至跌至0%。和甚至如果压抑基因不作出任何选育,这有很好的机会在几代后这种基因会消失,由于频率随机地可以稍微较大或较小。并由于频率在开始时是很小(一个大族群中的一个特变基因),这相当有可能地,频率随机偶然跌至0%,并消失。

因此,波斯猫的有效族群明显地是不够大。逢机漂变的结果,随机而很不幸地增加了PKD基因的频率。尽管有一定数量对基因选育,然而在更多的配育员意识到这一个问题的时候,频率已经达到约25-30%,而引入强择。

这一切告诉我们什么?如果我们没有足够大的有效族群,令人不悦的基因的高频率继续爆发。如果我们很不幸,我们可能对试图减少这些问题选育也有困难。

如果我们可以肯定在我们的品种中有足够大的有效族群,遗传病将不会在整个族群中成为一个普遍的问题。作为一个红利,我们避免了近交衰退和不良的免疫系统。

选育太小的有效族群,并同时开始计划压抑在品种中的遗传病,等同治疗肺癌但继续吸烟。或擦干在浴缸边溢出的水,但忘记关掉水龙头,因此水继续倒进浴缸中。

在品种中扩大基因库,是对避免治疗的措施。在可以预防的前提下,只是对付疾病而不采取预防措施并不显得高明。

当我们创造和接受一只从另一个品种的梅花点短毛猫品种,一只大型毛茸茸的半长毛品种中型大小的头型等等的时候,我们必须紧记我们有需要一个合理大小的有效族群。除非愿意选育梅花点短毛猫的配育员数目与品种的数目同比例地增加,招募配育员,例如:豹猫-只是举例-将会损耗欧西猫/奥西猫 Ocicats的、东方梅花点短毛的、埃及猫的等等品种在他们的选育计划中,保持稳定和足够大数量的动物的机会。这些品种能够承担吗?新品种可以在这些其他品种中打出一片自己的天地吗?或如果,他们的族群都变小,因此到最后我们破坏了所有的梅花点短毛品种吗?这是在猫协会中的我们必须考虑的重要事情。这些威胁是事实,不是“纸上谈兵”的理论,并且我们已经开始看见的一个效应,虽然没有在狗的品种中出现的情况那么坏。但是,现在我们有机会去避免堕入狗配育员的难题!我们可以从他们的错误中学习,并改变利用更健康的方式选育,或我们可以继续以前的方法,而最后以难题终结。

因此,这是一些我们应该开始努力。不要忘记对抗特别疾病的具体计划。这是关于猫和各品种的健康的真正基础。

继续...

Genetics Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

Genetic problems are showing up in the breeds!

Yes, that is also due to a too small effective population! Unless it is due to a breeding without regard to the anatomic functions of the animal. Breeding for extremely long bodies might cause problems with the back, and breeding for very short faces might give problems with the teeth, breeding for extremely triangular, square, round, etc. heads might cause problems with jaws, eyes, brain, or whatever. A cat must be allowed to first and foremost be a CAT. It is not a piece of clay that we can shape after our own estetic ideals. A cat doesn't consist of circles, triangles, squares, or other geometric figures, we have to remember that. Maybe we should breed all cats with the coats of a poodle, so that we could CUT out the geometric shapes and odd angles that we find attractive. Then the cats could have their anatomy in peace. No, even if the standard says that a head should be triangular or square, we as breeders must resist to go to extremes. It should be the head of a cat - not a geometric figure.

Except for this breeding for extremes, it is the too small effective populations that cause the high frequencies of many genetic diseases to show up in breeds. Many breeders seem to be a bit confused about this. They might think that if we have for instance 10% of the cats in a breed affected by PRA, meaning a gene frequency of approximately 32% for the recessive PRA gene, and if we don't test and work to reduce this frequency, then the frequency will automaticly increase with time. This is of course not correct. If it were, then also the frequency of diluted (blue, cream, etc.) cats would increase all the time unless we selected against the dilution gene. If the effective population is big enough, and no selection for or against PRA is made, then the gene frequency will stay at 32%.

On the other hand if we select ever so weakly against PRA, for instance let the cats who themselves have PRA (homozygots) have no more than one litter, then the gene frequency will decrease. Slowly with a weak selection, more quickly with a strong selection.

But then what happens if the effective population is too small? What will then happen with the gene frequency? It will be the same effect as if you toss up a coin 10 times. Your chance for heads is 50% every time. And if you had tossed up this coin 1000 times, you would have got quite close to 50% heads and 50% tails. But now you only toss it 10 times. Then it is not very surprising if you by chance got 70% heads and 30% tails, or 30% heads and 70% tails, or something like that.

In the analogous scenario in a small cat population, it means that the gene frequency of around 30% in the next generation might have increased to 35%, because of this random effect. Or else it might have decreased to 25%, because of the same random effect, which in the PRA case would of course be a lot nicer. But let's be pessimistic and assume that the frequency increased to 35%. Then the EXPECTED value of the gene frequency for the next generation is also 35%. But by chance it might end up at 29%, 34%, 38%, 42%, or whatever. The smaller the effective population is the larger the risk is of getting a large deviation from the expected value of the gene frequency. Then this frequency, that we got randomly, will be the expected value for the next generation. This phenomenon is called random drift. If the impact of this random drift gets stronger than the impact of the selection - natural or artificial - then the changes of the gene frequency could very well be the opposite to what we wanted. DESPITE the selection. Then the eyes might get paler in our Siameses, or the lynx tufts might get smaller in our Norwegian Forestcats, or PKD might get more common in our Persians. That would of course be anything but funny!

If we now look into why PKD became a far too common problem in the Persians, it could hardly be caused by some mysterious selection in favour of lumpy kidneys. It must have another cause.

It must of course have started with a mutation in a cat long ago. It was a dominant gene, so the cat developed cycts on its kidneys. Let us assume that it was a male that died from the PKD at 5 years of age. Or perhaps at 7-8 years of age. Either way, we have a certain selection against the gene. If the population is then large enough, the frequency will then decrease and eventually go down to 0%. And even if there were no selection against the gene what so ever, there would be a good chance for the gene to disappear within a few generations, since the frequency could by chance be slightly larger or slightly smaller. And since the frequency was initially very small (one mutated gene in a large population), it is rather likely that the frequency by chance happened to decrease to 0%, and then the gene is gone.

So, the effective population for the Persians apparently was not large enough. Random drift resulted, and by chance this unfortunately caused an increase of the frequency of the PKD gene. In spite of a certain amount of selection against the gene, the result was that the frequency ended up at approximately 25-30% before more breeders became aware of the problem and a stronger selection was introduced.

What does all this tell us? That if we don't have large enough effective populations, then high frequencies of unpleasant genetic problems will continue to pop up. If we are unlucky we might also have difficulties attempting to reduce these problems with selection.

If we instead make sure that we have large enough effective populations in our breeds, genetic diseases will not pop up as a common problem in the entire population. And as a bonus we avoid inbreeding depressions and bad immune systems.

To breed with too small effective populations, and at the same time start projects to fight against genetic diseases within a breed, is just like being treated for lung cancer and continue smoking. Or to scoop out and wipe away the water that have poured over the rim of the bath-tub, while we still haven't remembered to close the tap, so the water is still pouring INTO the tub.

To work for large enough genepools is a kind of preventive medicine measures for the breeds. It doesn't seem clever just to treat the ailments, without bothering about the preventive measures that could prevent the ailments to arise in the first place.

We should also keep this need for reasonably large effective populations in mind when we create and accept one spotted shorthaired cat breed after the other, and one large furry semilonghair breed of medium head-type after the other, etc. Unless the number of breeders willing to work with spotted shorthaired breeds is increased at the same rate as the increase of the number of breeds, the reqruitment of for instance Bengal breeders - just an example - will be at the expense of the Ocicats', Spotted Oriental Shorthairs', Egyptian Maus', etc. possibilities to keep a constant and large enough number of animals for breeding in their breeding programs. Can these breeds afford this? Will the new breed be able to create a place for itself among all these other breeds? Or perhaps they will all get too small populations, so that we in the end have destroyed all the spotted shorthair breeds? These are important things for us in the cat organisations to think about. These threats are real, not just "in theory", and we have already begun to see the first effects, although not yet as badly as in the dog breeds. However, now we have the chance to avoid getting into as bad problems as the dog breeders! We can learn from their mistakes and change into a healthier way of breeding, or we can continue as before and end up in problems.

So this is something that we have to start working with. It must not be forgotten among all the specific projects against specific diseases. It is about the actual basis for the health of the cats and breeds.

Next...