遺傳學 Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

有效群体 Effective Population

实际上,某些品种的族群比其他的品种大,同时在小品种中对许多配育员而言很明显地基因庫太有限。但是太多在大型品种的配育员过分感到安全-例如:波斯猫 Persians 和伯曼猫 Birmans -拥有一个足够大的基因库。近亲繁殖的问题风险不高,除非您故意选择将一条血系近亲繁殖!但是这不是永远正确。

我们有时候讨论,甚至是大品种只选用少数优秀猫只过分地进行繁殖,将会对整个品种造成损害。过分地从一只猫大量繁殖的极端的情况,我们可以想象如果一只雄性跟在同一代每一只雌性交配。这种选育方法,甚至如果族群中有上千只没有血缘关系的雌性,当然基因庫不会大。为了更清楚在这一个情况基因池实际上有多大,我们可以计算有效族群。如果族群中有100只猫,雌雄数目均等,所有都随机地交配,而每一对父母都拥有同样数目的后代,这样有效族群也是100只。

另一方面,如上述利用一只雄性极端地过分繁殖,我们可以利用以下的方程式计算有效族群:

1 1 1 ---- = ------ + ------ Ne 4 x Nm 4 x Nf

Ne =有效群体, Nm =雄性数目, Nf =雌性数目。

一般而言,有效群体不会超过每一种性别最少数目的4倍。(除非您的选育计划特别设计成避免基因变异的流失,但是这是在猫选育个案中罕有的做法)。这意味着如果用了5只雄性,有效族群将不会超过4 x 5 = 20,甚至如果我们在选育计划中会选择1百万只雌性。

现实中,当然很少机会5只雄性用作同样数目的繁殖,而在族群中其余的雄性完全不用作选育。这样,利用这条方程式有点困难。但不用担心!有其他的方法!

一个过小有效群体会导致不同程度的近亲繁殖以增加每一代的数目。近亲繁殖与有效族群之间是有关连。利用这关连,我们将可以计算我们的猫的品种的有效族群。我们可以利用血统书计算近亲繁殖的系数, COI。最简单的方法是输入一个优秀并可以计算COI的血统书程式。也可以人手计算。这并不是非常困难,但是如果关系复杂,并且您希望计算多代的COI,这需要花很多时间,同时考虑整个过程中随时会出现些微的错会和误失。然而,如果关系简单,并不涉及多代,您也可以从血统书上直接很快地计算出COI。

继续...

Genetics Picture

English Chinese Spain French Italian Dutch Norwegian Swedish Portuguese Taiwanese

Effective Population

The fact that some breeds are larger in population than others and also the fact that the gene pool can be too limited in a small breed is probably obvious to most breeders. But far too many breeders feel secure in that the larger breeds - for instance Persians and Birmans - have a large enough gene pool. No risk of inbreeding problems there, unless you choose to deliberately inbreed a line! But that is not always true.

We sometimes discuss the fact that overbreeding from a few outstanding individuals is harmful for breeds, even the larger breeds. The most extreme overbreeding from one individual that we could imagine is if one single male is mating every female in a population in a generation. With that kind of breeding, of course the gene pool will not be large, even if the population contained a thousand unrelated females. In order to get a better idea about just HOW large the gene pool really is in such a case, we could calculate the effective population. If the population contains 100 individuals, with an equal number of males and females, all of which are mated randomly to each other with the same amount of offsprings resulting from every parent, then the EFFECTIVE population is also 100.

On the other hand, with the extreme overbreeding of one male described above, we can calculate the effective population with the following formula:


        1       1        1

      ---- = ------ + ------

       Ne    4 x Nm   4 x Nf

 

Where Ne = the effective population, Nm = number of males, Nf = number of females.

Generally speaking, the effective population will not be larger than 4 times the number of individuals of the least represented sex. (Unless you have set up a breeding program specificly designed to avoid losing genetic variation, but that is very seldom the case in cat breeding.) This means that if 5 males are used, the effective population will not be more than 4 x 5 = 20, even if we could use a million different females in that breeding program.

In reality of course it is seldom the case that five males are used for equally many litters and the remaining males in the population are not used for breeding AT ALL. Then it gets a bit difficult to use this formula. But don't worry! There are other methods!

A too small effective population will cause the degree of inbreeding to increase for every generation. There is a connection between inbreeding and effective population. Using this connection we will be able to calculate the effective population of our cat breeds. We can use our pedigrees to calculate the coefficient of inbreeding, COI. The easiest way of doing this is to enter the pedigree in a good pedigree program that is capable of calculating the COI. It is also possible to calculate it by hand. It is not difficult at all, but if the relationships are complicated and you want to calculate the COI from many generations, it is very time consuming, and there is a considerable risk to make a small error somewhere along the way. However, if the relationships are simple and the number of generations to calculate from is reasonable, you could quickly calculate the COI directly from the pedigree.

Next...