选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

血统书知识

对血统书的知识经常被低估。大部分刚开始的配育员都需要一段时间后才意识到它的重要性,之后他们开始学习在血统书上需要观察些什么。

经常地我们会发现,我们购入的第一只动物,过了些时日后并不再符合我们的期望,如:血统书。在我们购入了第一只选育用的动物后,我们会更认识这一只选育用的猫的家族背景。不只一次我们不会为我们所知道和学习到的事物而完全高兴。比如,由于我们的猫的祖先们已经被滥用作繁殖,而因此非常困难地为我们选育用的猫寻找到匹配伴侣。或由于我们后来发现其中一只祖先将不良的特性传了给一些后代,如:遗传性缺陷或跟品种标准不太接近。

许多人都不知道当他们看着血统书的时候需要找些什么。事实是拥有血统书的猫不经常意味着这只猫是品种动物。某些品种是允许与其他品种杂交。其他某些品种的血统簿还是开放的,这表示没有血统书而非常相似该品种的的猫,是可以用作杂交。这两种情况的出现目的都是为了扩大基因池。但对于杂交是有很严格的规定,说明哪些猫是可以、哪些是不允许跟哪些特定的品种杂交。

然而,在过期出现过一些不良的杂交,为今日的某些品种带来问题。如在缅因猫库Maine Coon品种严禁的重点色基因point gene(暹逻猫颜色)。

您如何知道您的猫的血统书没有问题?一些欧洲的猫协会在血统书上每一只猫都有标着EMS简易记忆系统代码。挪威森林猫是NFO",伯曼猫/波曼猫Sacred Birman是"SBI",缅因库猫Maine Coon是"MCO"。如果在血统书上标着"XSH"或"XLH",这意味着这只猫不是纯种猫。(XSH表示短毛家猫,XLH表示长毛家猫)。您也可以在 血统书上找到一些描述如"exp. 1e generation"或类似的描述。( "exp."表示实验)同样地,这意味着您的动物并非纯种。

即使,如果您不明白这些在血统书上的符号、代码和缩写代表些什么,您还是可以查看是否所有东西都妥当,您只要有逻辑地思考和稍加注意。如果所有或1只有、2只动物有同样的缩写,要求解释。联络其他的配育员,或发出血统书的协会。他们会为您解释这些缩写意味着些什么,和为什么这1或2只猫有不同的标识。永远不要假设血统书是质量或诚实的标准-无论是配育员以及猫咪。自己侦查,寻根究底,能追查多少代就多少代。血统书并非一个保证!

最后,还有其他的工具让您追溯您的猫的血统书,如近亲繁殖的百分比。尽量计算近亲繁殖的百分比,观察列在血统书上最近的4、或5代是非常重要。如果您发现其中一只猫的名字出现超过一次,这不用花您很多时间发现一些近亲繁殖的出现。近亲繁殖的程度可以利用血统书程式计算,如PawPeds.

继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Pedigree knowledge

Knowledge of pedigrees is often underrated. For most beginning breeders it takes a while before they realize how important this is, and they learn later on what they have to look for in a pedigree.

Often we see that the animal we bought first, later on does not meet our expectations anymore with regards to e.g. the pedigree. In the years after we buy our first breeding cat we gain more insight about the family background of our breeding cat. It happens more then once that we are not entirely happy with what we learned. For instance because the ancestors of our cat have been used very often, and it is difficult to find a supplementing partner to our breeding cat. Or because we later find out that one of the ancestors has passed on bad traits to some of its offspring, like genetic defects or weaknesses with relation to the breed standard.

A lot of people do not know what to look for when they see a pedigree. The fact that a cat has a pedigree does not always mean that the cat is a purebred animal. In some breeds crossbreeding is allowed. For some other breeds the studbooks are still open and cats without a pedigree but who share a large resemblance to the breed can be used for outcrosses. In both cases this is being done to widen the gene pool. There are strict rules drawn up for these outcrosses, that describe which cats are, and which cats are not allowed to be used as outcrosses in a certain breed.

However, in the past there have been some undesirable crossbreeds, that up to this day still cause problems in some breeds. Like the forbidden point gene (Siamese color) in the Maine Coon breed.

How can you tell if your cat's pedigree is all right? Some European cat associations note on the pedigree the EMS code of each cat. For a Norwegian Forest Cat, this is "NFO", for a Sacred Birman this is "SBI" and for a Maine Coon it is "MCO". If the description on the pedigree says "XSH" or "XLH", this means that the cat is not a purebred cat. (XSH stands for domesticated shorthair, XLH stands for domesticated longhair.) You can also find descriptions like "exp. 1e generation" or something like that on the pedigree. (Where "exp." stands for experimental.) Again, this means you are dealing with an animal that is not a purebred.

Even if you do not know what all the signs, codes and abbreviations on a pedigree mean, you will still be able to see if everything is ok, you just have to think logically and pay attention. If all but 1 or 2 animals have the same abbreviations, ask for explanations. Contact other breeders, or the association that made the pedigree. They can explain to you what the abbreviations mean, and why these 1 or 2 cats have different descriptions. Never assume that a pedigree stands for quality or integrity, both for the breeder as well as for the cat. Investigate things yourself, and sift to the bottom, for as many generations as possible. A pedigree is not a warranty!

Finally, there are other things you can derive from your cat's pedigree, like the inbreeding percentage. To calculate the inbreeding percentage as good as possible, it is very important to look beyond the 4 or 5 generations that are listed on the pedigree. If you see the name of one cat mentioned more then once, it will not take you long to realize some form of inbreeding took place. The level of inbreeding can be calculated by a pedigree program like PawPeds.

Next...