选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

道德操守

为何您想繁殖/选育品种猫?你是否只是想,只此一次,拥有一胎、或您想很认真地涉足您的品种的选育?如果您只是希望拥有一胎,您不需要繁殖纯种猫。您也可以用两只家猫交配,同样地也可以拥有一胎幼猫。无论他们是否拥有血统书,猫不都是美丽和惹人喜爱吗?

如果你很想真诚地涉足您的品种的选育,那么,您也可能已经想过一个选育计划。选育是远超过简单地为你的繁殖用的雌猫(猫后)找来一只帅雄猫。您需要尝试计划往后几代的选育。由于猫会按自己的意思行事,因此选育计划经常受到改变。这些都是一些可以搞砸您的计划的例子:

  • 猫后不发情。
  • 雄猫喷尿的情况太不靠谱,他的主任在让他和您的猫交配之前已经为他绝育。
  • 猫后经过几次交配都没有受精,不能成孕。
  • 猫后不想和您为她挑选的雄猫交配。

不过,如果您有一个选育目标,那么你就可以继续努力实现它。

定立選育目標并不意味著你可能永不會改變它。您應該視它為一個方針,助您做決定。過了一段時間您可能需要調整您的選育目標而要終止它。舉例如:由于您選育的品種發展,令您的目標無法實現、或由于您所學得的新知識,您覺得,先前定下的選育目標并不完全值得追繼續。

有了选育目标保证您的开始选育将不会步上如比较美言的'滥繁殖户',和变成俗称的黑市私人繁殖户backyard breeder之路。许多新手都说 "我想一定很好玩,只是繁殖一胎…"。经验老到的配育员往往异议。任何有品德的配育员都试图优化品种,而不只是生产幼猫。只是,什么是品种优化?是不是指更健康的猫?或是更漂亮的猫或更令人喜爱的猫?大部分的配育员都试图生产一只健康、美丽和令人喜爱的猫……大部分的人都会同意什么样是一只令人喜爱的猫,但是什么是健康和美丽?在这方面各有不同的意见。什么令一只猫称得上美丽,这是纯粹品味的问题。您可以按照自己的品味,而在符合品种标准要求内选育便可以。健康的猫,举例可以活到10岁而没有任何疾病。

此外,考虑您的选育决定在基因库所产生的影响。如,举例,您育有一胎8只小猫,而您将所有8只都卖给其他配育员,这是否为您的品种带来好处?和如果您从同一只猫后繁殖出超过两胎幼猫,将所有这些幼猫都卖给其他配育员,将会有什么影响?另一方面,如果您从一对很独特的父母组合繁殖出一胎幼猫,而不将任何小猫卖给配育员,在这种情况下,您对这品种贡作了些献什么贡献呢(正面和负面)?或这是否黑市私人繁殖户的行为?(如果您每一胎都有出售幼猫给配育员,请不要误会。这只是纯粹让您认真的考虑您选育一胎的原因。)

继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Ethics

Why do you want to breed? Do you want to just, once, have a litter, or do you want to get seriously involved with your breed? If you just want a litter, you don't need purebred cats. You can also take two household pets that have kittens together. Aren't all kittens neat and endearing, whether they have a pedigree or not?

If you earnestly want to get involved with a breed, then maybe you have also already thought about a breeding programme. Breeding is more then simply getting a nice tomcat for your female breeding cat (queen). You should try to plan a few generations ahead. Breeding plans are always subjected to changes since cats have a mind of their own. These are some examples that can mess up your plans:

  • The queen does not get in heat.
  • The stud sprays so much that his owner had him neutered before your cat was bred.
  • The queen does not get impregnated and even after a couple of times being bred, is not pregnant.
  • The queen does not want to breed with the stud that you chose for her.

But if you have a breeding goal in mind, then you can keep working towards it.

Having settled on a breeding goal does not mean that you may never change it. You should see it rather as a guideline, to help you with your decisions. After a while you may conclude that your breeding goal needs adjustment. For instance because there are developments in your breed that make your breeding goal unattainable, or because, with all your new knowledge, you decide that your prior breeding goal was not all that worthwhile.

Having a breeding goal ensures that you will not start breeding in a way that is better described as 'multiplying', and become a so-called backyard breeder. Many beginning breeders say "I think it would be fun, to just breed a litter ...". Experienced breeders often object to this. Any self-respecting breeder tries to improve the breed, not just produce kittens. Only, what is improvement of the breed? Is that a healthier cat? Or a more beautiful cat or a more likable cat? Most breeders try to produce a healthy, beautiful and likable cat .... Most people will agree on what is a likable cat, but what is healthy and beautiful? There are many different opinions about that. What makes a cat beautiful is a matter of taste. You can follow your own taste, as long as it falls within the breed standard. A healthy cat is a cat that for example reaches an age of 10 years without all kinds of diseases.

Also, think of the influence that your breeding decisions may have on the gene pool. If, for example, you breed a litter of 8 kittens, and you sell all 8 to other breeders, is that good for your breed? And if you get two more litters from the same queen and you sell all those kittens also to breeders, what is then the effect? On the other hand, if you breed a litter with a unique combination of parents, and you sell not a single kitten to breeders, what is in that case your contribution (positive or negative) to the breed? Or would that be backyard breeding? (Please do not read this as if you have to sell a kitten from each litter to breeders. It is purely meant to make you think hard about your reasons to breed a litter.)

Next...