选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

设备

每一个配育员都有他或她自己的方法安顿幼猫。不是只有一个正确的方法而其他的都是错。一种在您的个别情况下使用的方法可能是一个很好的解决方案,而不适用于其他人。例如:一些人会起誓说幼猫笼很管用,而其他则讨厌使用笼子。听取每一个人的意见,从有如星数的意见中抽取并选用最适合您的方法。

许多情况都可以决定您如何安顿幼猫的方法:您的房子、在您的地区所提供的物件(有些产品只可以在欧洲购买,而美洲没有或反过来)、和您家中的动物。例如:您可以制作一个从未如此美丽的分娩箱,但是母猫还是决定她不想用分娩箱,而想在您的床上分娩,这样您可以做的就只有是马上跑去放好一个纸箱,抓些毛巾,试图救回您的床垫。

要说服母猫她的小猫在幼猫箱子中是最安全是很困难的。一些母猫会让她的幼猫经常留在同一个地方,其他会经常将她们的小猫搬到不同的地方。如果母猫决定要离开幼猫箱,到外面逛逛。您不需要每一次都让步,例如将幼猫放在箱子的顶部便不是一个明智的举动。但是如果母猫想在您的床下而不是在幼猫箱中养育幼猫,您就让她这样做吧,并让她在床下尽量感到舒适。这样让妈妈开心,会促进她成为幼猫更好的妈妈。

以下您可以看到一些由其他配育员亲自动手制作的工程,这些例子不是要您连细节都仿制,只是给您一些灵感而已。


Kitten box

这一个幼猫箱旁边设有把手,可以简单地从一个地方搬运到另一个地方。您可以选择在幼猫箱下加些小轮子。请肯定轮子装有楔子,因此箱子不会因为母猫跳进或跳出箱子而左右滑行。图片版权:Annemiek Frieswijk.


Kitten box

猫往往想吃不是属于他们的食物。如果您让幼猫吃幼猫饲料,特别是年纪较大的猫会很狂热地想分一杯羹。如这一个喂食箱,旁边有一个小孔,只有细小的幼猫可以进入箱子中吃您放在里面的食物。但是,当然不能避免幼猫跟父母共享成猫饲料。图片版权:Annemiek Frieswijk.


Kitten box

幼猫可以在起居室架起的护栏中成长,这样做让他们不会出现问题。 (如被卡在冰箱后面、或因为他们咬电线而触电)。这一个护栏是由包上塑胶的材质制作,地板部分是油布。图片版权:Traci Jones.


Kitten box

纸箱往往都被用作分娩箱。这是非常方便,因为您在母猫生分娩后就可以扔掉,而且不用清洁。但是,请紧记那些用作承载水果的箱子都经过杀虫剂处理!因此经常劝阻切勿使用纸箱。这一个分娩箱是在宜家购买的。塑料制作的箱子非常容易清洁。图片版权:Riëtte van Beek.

您也可以购买折叠式的宠物屋,他们有点像小帐篷。可以用作生分娩箱、幼猫箱等等。好处是当您不需要用的时候,可以折叠成为小包方便存放。坏处是这些宠物屋通常都是非常昂贵。

分娩箱/幼猫箱等,无论是什么地方,只要是幼猫趟在上面的,最好都是用白色的织物作垫子。大部分的猫妈妈都是清洁能手,当她们的宝宝脏了,她们会马上为宝宝进行清洁。这当然是一件非常好的事情,但是如果当幼猫有异常的便便,您可能需要一些时间才察觉有问题。白色的床单或枕头套的好处是您可以看见那些便便的污迹,并且您可以从颜色知道是否一切正常。

猫砂盆-您也可以在宠物店为您提供的昂贵选择以外搜索其他方案。到百货店看看有没有婴儿浴盆或洗衣桶可以让您用作猫砂盆。幼猫不需要一个很大的猫砂盆,反正他们都爬不进一个大的猫砂盆。为幼猫放一个小盆,在小盆的旁边开一个洞,让小猫可以进出,或您可以使用一个四边凸起的盘子。

当然在每一个饲养猫的家都会有磨爪器。猫不会介意这个磨爪器是否漂亮,他们只关心的是他们的指甲是否变得锋利。您不需要花几百欧元(几千元人民币)去讨猫的欢心。富有创意的不求人项目,利用木头、剑麻绳和一小片的地毯已经很好。只有您能肯定不会有钉子或书钉在上面边便可以。

继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Equipment

Every breeder has his or her own way to accommodate kittens. It is not so that only one way is the right way and that every other way is wrong. Depending on your personal situation a solution could work for you that does not work for somebody else. For example: some people swear by a kitten cage, while others detest it. Listen to what everybody has to say, and then try to pick from the jungle of opinions and well meant advises what works best for you.

Several circumstances that determine the way kittens will be housed are: your house, the available attributes in your area (some products that are available in Europe are not available in America and vice versa) and the animals in your home. For instance: you can make the most beautiful birthing box that ever existed, but still the female can decides she wants to deliver on your bed rather then in the birthing box. Then all you can do is run to the linen-cupboard, grab some towels and try to save your mattress.

It can also be difficult to persuade a female that the kittens are safest in the kitten cage. Some females will stay in one place with their kittens, others will move their kittens around all the time. If the female has decided she wants out of the kitten cage, let go outside. You don not have to give in to her all the time, for instance placing the kittens on top of a cupboard is not a clever move. But if the female wants her kittens to grow up under your bed and not in a kitten cage, then let her do so and make her as comfortable as possible under the bed. That way Mom is happy, and that makes her a better mother to the kittens.

Below you can see some examples and tips of do-it-yourself projects that other breeders made. These are not examples you have to copy into detail, it is meant to give you inspiration.


Kitten box

There are handles at the sides of this kitten cage so it can easily be moved from one place to another. You can also choose to add small wheels under the kitten cage. Please make sure there is a brake on the wheels, so the cage doesn't move from one side to the other when the female jumps in or out the cage. Photo credit: Annemiek Frieswijk.


Kitten box

Very often cats want to eat the food that is not meant for them. If you give the kittens kitten food, especially the older cats will dig in enthusiastically. A feeding cage like this one has a small hole at the side, so only the small kittens can enter the cage and eat the food you place inside. This of course does not prevent the kittens from joining their parents and eating the adult food. Photo credit: Annemiek Frieswijk.


Kitten box

The kittens can grow up in a playpen placed in the livingroom, without getting themselves in all kind of problems. (Like getting stuck behind the refrigerator, or getting an electric shock because they bit through electric wires.) This playpen is made from plastified elements, and a piece of linoleum serves as a floor. Photo credit: Traci Jones.


Kitten box

Often people use a cardboard box as a birthing box. This can be very handy, since you can throw it away after the delivery and you do not need to clean it afterwards. However, remember that boxes that contained fruit are often treated with pesticides! That's why the use of cardboard boxes is dissuaded. This birthing box was bought at IKEA. It is made of plastic and is very easy to clean. Photo credit: Riëtte van Beek.

You can also buy collapsible pet homes, they look like small tents. These too can be used as a birthing box, kitten cage etc. The advantage is that when you don't use them, you can fold them into small packages that are easy to store. The disadvantage is that these pet homes usually are expensive.

For the birthing box/kitten cage or wherever the kittens are lying, it is best if you use white fabric as lining. Most moms are very good cleaners, and they clean their babies immediately when they get dirty. This is of course a very good thing, but if a kitten has abnormal stools, it might take a while before you realize something is wrong. White sheets or pillowcases have the advantage that you can see the stains left behind from the stool and you can tell whether the color of it is normal.

For litter boxes you can also look for other solutions then the expensive options the pet store will offer you. Check out department stores if they have baby bathtubs or laundry baskets that you can use for litter boxes. Kittens do not need a very large litter box, they cannot climb in a large litter box anyway. Use a small tub for the kittens where at one side you cut out a hole so the kittens can get in and out, or maybe you can use a tray with a raised border.

Then of course in every cat household there should be a scratching post. Cats do not care if it is a beautiful post, they want to be able to sharpen their nails. You do not need to spend hundreds of euro's to have something that will make your cats happy. Creative do-it-yourself projects with wood, sisal rope and leftover pieces of carpet will do just nicely. Just make sure there are no nails or staples sticking out.

Next...