选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

基因缺陷

所有的造物都会出现基因缺陷。一些基因缺陷是完全无害,而其他则危及生命。基因或遗传性缺陷跟天生缺陷不同。遗传性缺陷是由父母传给后代。天生缺陷可以是遗传,但它们是由于外来的因素影响而产生。如果母亲在怀孕期间生病、或在怀孕期间接触有毒物质,这些都可以影响胚胎的生长和发展。

如果一胎幼猫中某几只是异常,您可以从他们的异常症状断定是天生或遗传。当所有受影响的幼猫都拥有同样的异常症状(如:尾巴拗折),这样很可能是遗传缺 陷。可是,如果同一胎有多只幼猫各有不同的异常征状(如:一只是尾巴拗折、一只是腭裂、和一只脊柱裂)这些异常症状很有可能是由于外来因素影响。幼猫不是在子宫中同时同步发展。因此,当一只怀孕的母猫接触了有毒物质,毒素可能对不同的幼猫产生致害的地点有所不同。这可能是每一只幼猫带来不同的影响的原因。

遗传特征分显性和隐性基因。这意味着,如果您接受同一种特征的显性和隐性基因,将会看见显性基因,而隐性的将会被隐藏。这会令您成为一个显性带原者。

还有跟性别有关的缺陷,和跟性别无关的缺陷。跟性别无关的缺陷称为"常染色体/正染色体autosomal",跟性别有关的缺陷称为"X伴性X- linked"。这是由于跟性别有关的缺陷是在X-染色体,雌性拥有两条X染色体,而雄性只有一条X-染色体。当一种缺陷是和性别有关而出现,这样雄性患 病的机会比雌性大。雌性需要两条带有显性基因的X-染色体才会发展出缺陷,而雄性,只需要一条带有显性基因的X -染色体便可发展出缺陷。

有些遗传病只是品种特征,其他则出现在超过一个品种或一个物种。虽然有人说,某些品种经常出现一种遗传病,但这不是往往真实。有可能该疾病确实是只在一或两个(有关系)的品种中出现,但也可以是品种甲的配育员做了该遗传病的检验,而品种乙的配育员没有为他的动物进行检验。这并不以为这种遗传病不出现在品种乙,品种乙就比品种甲健康。品种乙的配育员可能永不能肯定他们的品种有这种遗传病。毕竟他们没有对这种缺陷进行检验。

缺陷检验

检验缺陷必须由经验丰富的兽医或专家执行!如果您只是贪图方便到"街边角落上的兽医",您只是将金钱掉到厕所冲掉而已。现在有许多不同科目的专科兽医,因此尝试找您想为您的猫进行的缺陷检验的专科兽医,最好是在这一个方面经验丰富的兽医。

当您考虑从一个配育员购买一只幼猫,明智的做法是查询幼猫父母的健康。配育员有没有为它们进行过在该品种经常出现的缺陷的检验?如果没有,为什么呢?如果有,可以要求检验结果的副本!要求副本听起来非常可疑,但不幸的是许多配育员当需要谈及缺陷检验或展示检验结果的时候都会退缩。一个没有东西需要隐藏的配育员会非常高兴地让您看检验结果。

在未来将会有更多的基因检验提供,已经发现了一些缺陷/基本的遗传标记,其他的缺陷,科学家也正在搜索遗传标记。

继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Genetic defects

Genetic defects appear in all living creatures. Some genetic defects are very harmless while others are life threatening. Genetic or hereditary defects are not the same as congenital defects. Hereditary defects are passed on by the parents to the offspring. Congenital defects can be genetic, but they can also be caused by external influences. If the mother becomes ill during the pregnancy, or if she is exposed to toxic substances during the pregnancy, this can influence the growth and development of the embryo.

If a litter of kittens is born and some of the kittens have abnormalities, you can often tell by the abnormalities if it is congenital or hereditary. When the affected kittens all have the same abnormality (for instance kinked tails) then it is very likely that this is hereditary. However, if the litter has several kittens with abnormalities, but the abnormalities are all different (for instance one with a kinked tail, one with a cleft palate, and one with spina bifida) then these abnormalities are probably caused by external influences. The kittens are not at the same stage of development at the same time in the uterus. So when a pregnant female comes in contact with a toxic substance, the poison will affect every kitten in another place. This might cause different effects for each kitten.

Hereditary traits are divided in dominant and recessive genes. This means that if you receive one dominant and one recessive gene for one trait, the dominant gene will be visible and the recessive gene will be suppressed. This makes you a carrier of the trait that lies on the recessive gene.

There are sex-linked defects, and defects that are not sex-linked. The non sex-linked defects are called "autosomal", the sex-linked defects are called "X-linked". This is because sex-linked defects are located on the X-chromosome, females have two X-chromosomes while males only have one X-chromosome. When a defect is recessive and sex-linked, then males have a bigger chance as females to get the disease. Females have to have the recessive gene on both X-chromosomes to develop the defect, while males only have to have the recessive gene on one X-chromosome.

Some hereditary diseases are breed specific, others occur in more then one breed and even in more then one species. Although it is said that some breeds have a certain hereditary defect very often, this is not always true. It is possible that the disease is indeed only occurring in one or two (related) breeds, but it can also be that breeders of breed A do test for a certain disease, and breeders of breed B do not test their animals. This automatically means that affected animals are found more often in breed A as in breed B. But this does not mean that in breed B this defect does not occur, and that breed B is healthier than breed A. The breeders of breed B can never be certain whether or not their breed has the defect. After all they do not test for this defect.

Testing for defects

The testing for defects should always be performed by an experienced vet or a specialist! If you are just out for a quick test and you visit the "vet on the corner", you might as well flush your money down the toilet. These days many vets specialize in different subjects, so try to find a vet that is specialized in the defect that you want your cat to be tested for, and preferably one who has a lot of experience in this area.

When you consider buying a kitten from a breeder, it is always wise to ask for the parents' health. Did the breeder test the animals on the defects that occur in the breed? If not, why not? If yes, ask for copies of the test results! Asking for proof may sound very suspicious, but unfortunately some breeders will not shrink back from lying about testing, or about the test results. A breeder who has nothing to hide will be happy to show you his test results.

In the future more and more genetic test will be available, the genetic marker of some defects/illnesses has been found already, for others defects scientists are still searching for the marker.

Next...