选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

用作选育的动物

您选择用作繁殖的动物将会是您的选育计划的基础。因此您将会非常希望拥有一只良好的繁殖用的动物。但你到哪里找到他们呢?和什么是良好的选育用的动物呢?

找寻良好的选育动物首先从找寻好的配育员开始。但同样引发上述的问题:到哪里找好的配育员,和什么条件区分为一个好的配育员呢?

这些问题都没有固定的答案。一个被认为是好的配育员,可能在其他人眼中是不好的。但是,您应该亲身体验与一个配育员在一起,这是一个很好的感觉!花点时间认识配育员。多次造访(让您也有机会看看小猫多几次,往往都是很有意思)并且与他(她)交谈。他对体检的看法、有关选育和涉及的相关事情、猫的居住环境如何。他对您想用他的幼猫进行选育,他有什么感觉?(请注意:不是所有的配育员都允许任何人用他的幼猫进行选育。在您购买他的幼猫之前需要先谈论。)如果双方都觉得满意,那样您已经有一个好开始。您不需要成为对方的红颜知己或知心朋友,但如果你们的想法和方向都大致相同,事情就差不多落实。要求幼猫的买卖合约,让您可以在家细阅。在下一次的造访,您可以要求澄清和讨论合约的内容。

同时,您可以向其他的配育员查询对您已经造访过的配育员的意见。多问几个配育员;一个可能与您的小猫的配育员意见不合的人,有可能为此给您一个坏的参考。询问3或4个人的意见。如果他们说的都一致,那么您就知道情况可能是真实。顺道说一下,好的配育员也会试图得到一些参考!如果发现那些问题是针对您而提出,不要觉得受到侮辱。配育员只是想知道您有没有说实话。同时,配育员可以在您造访的时候询问您许多问题。您对选育的意见,您对选育的认识有多少,有关-举 例-基因、疾病、培育小猫等等。有些配育员让您感觉是在被西班牙的宗教法庭挑战一样。但是,等于您希望知道您是否从一个专业和真诚的选育人处购买幼猫一样,正如一个好的配育员也会想知道如果他把幼猫售卖给某人,某人是否将会是一个负责和真诚地参与选育的人。

最终选择

好了,您已经找到一个好的配育员,和您想从他(她)处购买一只幼猫。那样产生了问题:您想要哪只幼猫?观察配育员拥有的猫。决定您想从哪只猫(或组合)繁殖的幼猫。这不意味您就能得到那只幼猫……配育员有他自己的选育目标,同时您也必须决定您的计划是否能彼此协调。如果情况并非如此,您仍然可能得到好的:可能配育员有一个比你更好的计划。另一个可能性是配育员喜欢您提出的计划。但在任何情况下,您已经表示了您思考过您想要的是什么。

您如何选择动物可以根据不同的标准。每个人的标准都不同,而且也会取决于您所选择的品种。如果您想选育缅因库猫 Maine Coons 或挪威森林猫 Norwegian Forest cats,那有可能除了其他的因素外,您也会希望幼猫拥有特别的颜色。但是,如果您想选育的是俄罗斯蓝猫Russian Blues,这样颜色就不会是您需要考虑的选择标准。

一个适合任何人用的标准:在我的地区大部分的配育员拥有什么动物。您将会需要和其他的配育员定期合作,迈向您的选育目标。您将会需要向其他的配育员购买幼猫、或您的猫与其他人的配种猫交配。如果您购买一只跟您地区中的配育员的猫有关系的幼猫,那样您将不容易地为这只猫寻找适合的伴侣。

最后:不要仓促地作出决定。如果一切事情都妥当,这一只幼猫将会是您的选育计划中的支柱。这就是为什么您要寻找您可以得到的最佳的幼猫。理由非常充分-如果有需要-就为一只适当的幼猫等待半年或一年吧,是吗?您可以利用时间更深入了解您的品种,和有关选育的每一项事情!

继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Breeding animals

The breeding animals that you select constitute the basis of your breeding program. So you will want to have good breeding animals. But where do you find them? And what are good breeding animals?

Looking for a good breeding animal starts with looking for a good breeder. But this raises the same questions as above: where do you find a good breeder and what distinguishes a good breeder?

There are no fixed answers to these questions. What one would consider a good breeder, may be deemed a bad breeder by somebody else. But what you should experience with a breeder, is a good feeling! Take the time to get to know the breeder. Visit a couple of times (gives you the chance to see the kittens a couple of times, that is always fun!) and talk with him (her). What are his thoughts about tests, about breeding and all that is involved, how are the cats housed. What is his feeling that you want to breed with his kitten? (Please note: not all breeders allow just anybody to breed with their kittens. Talk this over before you buy the kitten.) If you feel comfortable with each other, then you have made a good start. You don't have to become soulmates, but if your ideas by-and-large agree, then things are falling in place. Do ask for the contract for the kitten, so that you can study it at home. At a next visit you can ask for clarification, and discuss the contract.

Also you can ask other breeders for their opinion on the breeder that you visited. Ask several breeders; one may have a disagreement with the breeder of your kitten, and may therefore give a bad reference. Ask 3 or 4 persons for their opinion. If they all say the same, then you know that the stories are probably true. By the way, a good breeder will also try to get references! Do not be insulted if it turns out that questions were asked about you. The breeder only wants to check whether you told the truth. Also, the breeder can interrogate you when you are visiting. What is your opinion about breeding, what do you know about breeding, about -for instance- genetics, diseases, raising kittens, etc. Some breeders make you feel like you are being challenged by the Spanish Inquisition. But just like you want to know whether you are buying a kitten from a dedicated and sincere breeder, such a good breeder will want to know if he sells the kitten to someone who will be conscientiously and sensibly involved in breeding.

The final choice

OK, you found a good breeder and you want to buy a kitten from him (her). Then the question arises: which kitten do you want? Study the cats that that breeder has. Decide from which cat (or combination) you want a kitten. This does not mean that that is the kitten you will get ... the breeder has his own breeding goals, and together you will have to determine whether your plans harmonize with one another. If this is not the case, then still you may be the better for it: maybe the breeder has better plans than you had. Another possibility is that the breeder likes the plans that you present. But in any case it shows that you thought about what you want.

The selection of which animal you choose can be based on varying criteria. It differs per person, but also depends on the breed that you chose. If you want to breed Maine Coons or Norwegian Forest cats, then it is possible that aside from other considerations, you would also like to have a kitten of a special colour. But if you want to breed Russian Blues, then colour will not be a selection criterion.

A criterion that applies to everybody is: what animals have most breeders in my neighborhood. You will have to cooperate with other breeders regularly to get ahead towards your breeding goal. You will have to buy cats from other breeders, or mate your cat with somebody else's stud. If you buy a kitten that is related to the cats of the breeders in your neighborhood, then you will not easily find a suitable partner for this cat.

Finally: don't take hasty decisions. If everything works out, this kitten will be the founding cat of your breeding programme. That is why you look for the very best kitten that you may get. Reason enough to -if need be- wait half a year or a year for the right kitten, isn't it? You can use that time to further study your breed, and everything that is related to breeding!

Next...