Основы разведения
С улыбкой о сложном
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese Czech

[Перевод на русский язык Софьи Красносельской, SuperCats.RU.]

Разведение животных

Основу Вашей разведенческой (бридинговой) работы составляют животные, которых Вы выбираете для своей программы. Кто из них является истинно хорошим производителем? И как его найти? Кому из заводчиков можно доверять, а кому нет?

Готовых ответов на эти вопросы нет. Познакомьтесь с заводчиком поближе, постарайтесь побывать у него в гостях хотя бы пару раз, так как котята – это всегда умилительное чудо, а Вам надо остановить свой выбор не просто на котёнке, а на хорошем производителе. Поговорите с заводчиком, какие у него соображения по поводу производительных качеств того или иного котёнка. Как заводчик относится к тому, что Вы хотите взять котёнка для бридинговой работы? (Обратите внимание, что не все заводчики позволяют отдают котят в разведение. Поэтому Вы должны это оговорить с самого начала, до покупки котёнка).

Если Вы чувствуете, что нашли общий язык с заводчиком, то это уже хорошее начало. Если же душа не лежит к общению с заводчиком или ваши идеи глобально расходятся с идеями заводчика, то откажитесь от покупки котёнка. В положительном случае, попросите у заводчика текст контракта на приобретение котёнка, чтобы Вы могли изучить его дома. При последующем общении, Вы можете просить о разъяснении тех или иных пунктов контракта. Вы можете также поинтересоваться мнением других заводчиков о том человеке, которого Вы уже посетили. Если 3 или 4 человека выражают примерно одно и то же мнение о человеке, то, скорее всего, это правда. Однако, не обижайтесь, когда заводчик и Вас попросит предоставить рекомендации. Заводчик может, также, поинтересоваться Вашими планами на разведение, попытаться понять, что Вы знаете из генетики, ветеринарии, выращивании котят. Некоторые селекционеры могут в результате, не продать Вам котёнка. Но так же, как Вы хотите знать – у кого Вы его покупаете, точно так же, заводчик хочет быть уверен в том, что его котёнок попадёт к добросовестному человеку, который действительно увлечён разведением.

Заключительный этап выбора

ХОРОШО, Вы нашли хорошего селекционера, и хотите купить у него котенка. Возникает вопрос: какого же котёнка Вы выберете? Изучите родословные кошек, которые есть у заводчика. Решите для себя, от какой пары Вы хотите иметь производителя. Это вовсе не подразумевает, что Вы получите котёнка от этой пары. Ведь заводчик имеет собственные планы на разведение, и Вы должны понять - согласовываются ли ваши цели с планами заводчика. Если нет, то ещё не всё потеряно. Быть может, у заводчика есть вариант ещё лучше, чем Ваш собственный. Но даже если заводчик не имеет ничего более интересного для Вас, всё равно Вы продемонстрируете, что серьёзно работали и думали о разведении, а не размножении.

Выбор производителя основан на различных целях, которые выбирает себе человек. Но критерий выбора зависит не только от человека, но и от породы. Например, если Вы выбрали целью вывести Мейн-Куна или Норвежскую Лесную кошку определённого окраса, то в круг рассмотрения попадают только те пары кошек, которые могут Вам дать требуемый окрас. Если же говорить о породе Русских голубых кошек, то окрас уже не будет критерием подбора котёнка – будущего производителя.

Ещё один не маловажный критерий подбора – поголовье пород и окрасов кошек, находящихся в Вашем окружении: у соседей, знакомых и т.д. Ведь Вам будет необходимо регулярно сотрудничать с кем-то из них, чтобы продвигаться к своей цели. Кроме того, Вашему коту будут необходимы постоянные партнёры для вязок.

И наконец: не принимайте поспешных решений. Вы же ищите основного производителя для Вашей программы. Именно потому это должен быть самый лучший котёнок, какого только можно найти. Поиски такого котёнка могут занять полгода или год, но за это время Вы сможете изучить породу, её заводчиков и всё, что связано с разведением кошек!


Далее...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Breeding animals

The breeding animals that you select constitute the basis of your breeding program. So you will want to have good breeding animals. But where do you find them? And what are good breeding animals?

Looking for a good breeding animal starts with looking for a good breeder. But this raises the same questions as above: where do you find a good breeder and what distinguishes a good breeder?

There are no fixed answers to these questions. What one would consider a good breeder, may be deemed a bad breeder by somebody else. But what you should experience with a breeder, is a good feeling! Take the time to get to know the breeder. Visit a couple of times (gives you the chance to see the kittens a couple of times, that is always fun!) and talk with him (her). What are his thoughts about tests, about breeding and all that is involved, how are the cats housed. What is his feeling that you want to breed with his kitten? (Please note: not all breeders allow just anybody to breed with their kittens. Talk this over before you buy the kitten.) If you feel comfortable with each other, then you have made a good start. You don't have to become soulmates, but if your ideas by-and-large agree, then things are falling in place. Do ask for the contract for the kitten, so that you can study it at home. At a next visit you can ask for clarification, and discuss the contract.

Also you can ask other breeders for their opinion on the breeder that you visited. Ask several breeders; one may have a disagreement with the breeder of your kitten, and may therefore give a bad reference. Ask 3 or 4 persons for their opinion. If they all say the same, then you know that the stories are probably true. By the way, a good breeder will also try to get references! Do not be insulted if it turns out that questions were asked about you. The breeder only wants to check whether you told the truth. Also, the breeder can interrogate you when you are visiting. What is your opinion about breeding, what do you know about breeding, about -for instance- genetics, diseases, raising kittens, etc. Some breeders make you feel like you are being challenged by the Spanish Inquisition. But just like you want to know whether you are buying a kitten from a dedicated and sincere breeder, such a good breeder will want to know if he sells the kitten to someone who will be conscientiously and sensibly involved in breeding.

The final choice

OK, you found a good breeder and you want to buy a kitten from him (her). Then the question arises: which kitten do you want? Study the cats that that breeder has. Decide from which cat (or combination) you want a kitten. This does not mean that that is the kitten you will get ... the breeder has his own breeding goals, and together you will have to determine whether your plans harmonize with one another. If this is not the case, then still you may be the better for it: maybe the breeder has better plans than you had. Another possibility is that the breeder likes the plans that you present. But in any case it shows that you thought about what you want.

The selection of which animal you choose can be based on varying criteria. It differs per person, but also depends on the breed that you chose. If you want to breed Maine Coons or Norwegian Forest cats, then it is possible that aside from other considerations, you would also like to have a kitten of a special colour. But if you want to breed Russian Blues, then colour will not be a selection criterion.

A criterion that applies to everybody is: what animals have most breeders in my neighborhood. You will have to cooperate with other breeders regularly to get ahead towards your breeding goal. You will have to buy cats from other breeders, or mate your cat with somebody else's stud. If you buy a kitten that is related to the cats of the breeders in your neighborhood, then you will not easily find a suitable partner for this cat.

Finally: don't take hasty decisions. If everything works out, this kitten will be the founding cat of your breeding programme. That is why you look for the very best kitten that you may get. Reason enough to -if need be- wait half a year or a year for the right kitten, isn't it? You can use that time to further study your breed, and everything that is related to breeding!

Next...