选育一胎幼猫
可能很有意思,却永不简单
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

[由 Agnes Lou 翻译, www.romaskogkatt.com]

行政

行政管理是非常烦琐的工作,但当您与猫作业的时候,将会是很有需要的事务。如果您将事情简单地记录在日记中,作为宠物主人在一般情况下已经很足够。假若您的猫因为跛行,需要到兽医诊所,如果您已经知道它跛行是由于它从柜子上掉下来、或发生了什么事情,您的记录将会是非常方便。因为在事情过后往往很难记得发生了什么。

专业猫场的行政更复杂,特别是有更多选育用的动物在家中的时候。问题如:"X母猫最后一次发情是什么时候呢? ", "母猫Y的幼猫是什么时候分娩的呢? "和"哪4只黑色斑纹小猫的体重下降了?难道是上周食欲不振的小猫? "如果您不开始从您的记忆中去挖,很难找到答案。通常您都可以找到这些信息,但如果有良好的行政管理,这些信息就更可靠。加上,如果有方便的行政,您的朋友或家人都可以随时都可以在您病倒或有需要的时候代您照顾您的动物。只要简单一瞥他们就可以知道您猫场的现况。

下面的表格是一些例子。当然您可以根据您的希望和情况而调整它们。

出生表

在以下的表格中,我腾出一些空间填写谁是幼猫的父母,交配日期,和所有其他有关每一只幼猫的所有其他相关信息,如出生时间、您给小猫的代码(如果他们非常相似,这是一个非常好的点子,用指甲油在每一只幼猫的趾甲做标记、或用安全的记号笔在他们的毛发上做记号)等。如果您想加入其他的项目、更重要的项目,可以简单地加上,或取替我制作的纵列。

雄猫名字:
雌猫名字:
第一和最后交配日期 出生日期 在第一次交配后的日数(=妊娠期) 幼猫可以到新主人的日期。
       
幼猫编号 雄/雌 名字 体重 出生时间 颜色和斑纹 指甲油/記号
1.            
2.            
3.            
4.            
5.            
6.            
7.            
8.            
9.            

幼猫体重表

最好是每天在同一个时间为幼猫量体重,不要在第一天的晚上,而第二天在早上。这会给误导您。

如果一只或多只幼猫的在一天体重不增加,这不是意味着面临大灾难。只是如果连续几天都没有增加体重,或当他们体重减轻,就有需要令人担心的理由。

  小猫:
日期 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   


继续...

Breeding A Litter
maybe fun, never simple
Picture

English Chinese German Danish Spanish French Italian Dutch Norwegian Polish Portuguese Russian Swedish Taiwanese

Administration

Keeping an administration is a boring chore, but it can be a very useful tool when you work with cats. As a pet owner it will be sufficient most of the time if you simply write remarks down in your diary. Should you have to go to a vet because your cat is limping, then it is convenient for you to know whether the animal is limping because it has fallen of off a cupboard or if something else has happened. Afterwards it often is difficult to remember exactly when something has happened.

For a professional cattery it is gets more complicated, especially when there are more breeding animals in the house. Questions like: "When was female X in heat the last time?", "When was the litter of female Y born?" and "Which of the 4 brown tabby kittens dropped in weight? Is it the same kitten that had problems eating last week?" can be hard to answer if you have to start digging in your memory. Most of the times you can retrieve this information, but with a well-maintained administration the information is much more reliable. Plus, such an administration comes in very handy if you might get sick yourself, and friends or family have to step in to take care of your animals. With one glance they can tell what is going on in your cattery.

The tables below are examples. Of course you can adjust them to your own wishes and situations.

Birth table

In the table below I made space to fill in who the parents of the litter are, what the mating dates were, and all kind of other information about every kitten like the time of birth, which code you have given the kittens (when they have strong resemblances it might be a good idea to mark each kitten with nail-polish on their nails or with a safe text-marker in their coat) etc. If you want to add other, more important things you can simply add them or replace the columns I that used.

Name Male:
Name Female:
First and last mating date Birthdate Number of days after the first mating (=gestation) Date on which the kittens can go to their new owners.
       
Kitten nr male / female name weight time of birth colour and pattern nail-polish / marker code
1.            
2.            
3.            
4.            
5.            
6.            
7.            
8.            
9.            

Kittenweight table

It is best to pick a set time on which you weigh the kittens every day, so not during the evening the first day, and in the morning the next day. This would give you a wrong picture.

If one or more of the kittens do not gain weight on one day, this is not a disaster immediately. Only if they do not gain weight for a few days in a row, or when they loose weight, there is reason to start worrying.

  Kittens:
Date 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   
                   


Next...